When it takes place, players who have qualified, cash prizes, TV and streaming information

Ashleigh Barty WTA Finals champion Credit: Alamy

Edition no. 51 of the WTA Finals (formerly known as Virginia Slims Championships and WTA Championships) is just around the corner and we give you an overview of the important things before the event.

What are the WTA Finals and when do they take place?

The WTA Finals are the highlight of the season-ending tournament in women’s tennis and only the eight players with the best performance according to the WTA rankings during the year qualify for the event.

The inaugural tournament was hosted in 1972 and was called the Virginia Slims Championships before being renamed the WTA Tour Championships and then the WTA Finals.

After the four Grand Slams, the WTA Finals offer the largest prize pool and points in women’s tennis (more on that later).

This year’s tournament will take place from October 31st to November 7th with the singles and doubles finals taking place on the last Sunday.

What about this year’s venue for the team event?

After five years in Singapore from 2014 to 2018, the WTA Finals have moved a lot in recent years as Shenzhen in China hosted the 2019 edition before the 2020 tournament was canceled due to Covid-19. Guadalajara stepped in last year and many expected him to return to Mexico this year.

However, the end-of-season event will return to the US for the first time since 2005 as Dickies Arena in Fort Worth, Texas has obtained the hosting rights.

The 14,000-seat multi-purpose arena, which has hosted the concerns of Rod Steward, Kiss, Paul McCartney and Post Malone in recent years, will have an indoor hard court.

Tell us more about the format, please …

The top eight players in the world and the top eight doubles teams of the season qualify for the event and are split into two groups of four.

Each player / team then competes against the other three players / teams in their group and the top two in each group qualify for the semifinal. It will be first against second in the last four. The winners advance to the final.

Who are the eight players / teams that qualified for the 2022 edition?

World No. 1 Iga Swiatek was the first player to secure a spot in the singles event after winning the French Open, US Open and six other tournaments.

Ons Jabeur was next to confirm her place as the Tunisian finished second at the US Open (she didn’t score points at Wimbledon) and also won the Madrid Open as Jessica Pegula qualified after reaching three quarter-finals. of the Grand Slam and the final in Madrid.

Coco Gauff, Caroline Garcia, Aryna Sabalenka, Daria Kasatkina and Maria Sakkari secured tickets to the Guadalajara Open in Mexico.

Gauff and Pegula will compete in both singles and doubles while the American duo qualified for both events.

They will be joined in the doubles by the seeded Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova, Gabriela Dabrowski and Giuliana Olmos, Lyudmyla Kichenok and Jelena Ostapenko, Kudermetova and Elise Mertens, Xu Yifan and Yang Zhaoxuan, Desirae Krawczyk and Demi Schuurs, and Anna Haddad Maia.

The roll of honor so far …

Chris Evert won the inaugural event in 1972 and went on to win three more titles, but Martina Navratilova holds the record for most trophies as she has won eight while Steffi Graf and Serena Williams have won five each.

There have been six different winners since Williams won their final title in 2014 when Agnieszka Radwanska, Dominika Cibulkova, Caroline Wozniacki, Elina Svitolina, Ashleigh Barty and Garbine Muguruza have lifted the trophy in recent years.

And there will be a new winner as none of this year’s contestants have won the title. Svitolina is currently on maternity leave, Barty has retired and Muguruza has failed to qualify.

Krejcikova and Siniakova are looking to win two consecutive doubles titles, while none will capture Martina Navratilova and Pam Shriver in the near future as they have won 13 and 10 titles respectively.

When does the draw take place?

The draw should take place a couple of days before the main event starts, so on 29 or 30 October.

What about points and cash prizes?

If a player wins the tournament undefeated, they will walk away with 1,500 points in the leaderboard.

Points are awarded as follows:

– 125 points for each match played during the Italian round
– 125 points for each match won during the Italian round
– No points are awarded for the semifinal
– The player who wins the tournament adds 750 points to those he collected in the Italian round stage while the runner-up collects 330

The prize pool for the end of season event is $ 5,000,000 (approximately £ 4.4 million).

Winning the tournament without losses will earn you $ 1,680,000 in singles and $ 360,000 in doubles.

The participation fee works as follows in individuals:
3 games = $ 110,000
2 games = $ 90,000
1 game = $ 70,000

Additionally, you will receive $ 110,000 for every game you win in the round robin stage.

If you lose in the semifinals, you will add $ 30,000 to the cash prize you collected in the group stage. The overall winner will receive a check for $ 1,240,000 plus any money earned at the start of the tournament, while the runner-up will receive $ 420,000.

Participation fee for double:
3 games = $ 50,000
2 games = $ 40,000
1 game = $ 30,000

No extra cash to reach the semi-finals, but the winners receive a check for $ 250,000 and the runner-up leaves with $ 80,000.

Which TV channels and streaming services will be showing the tournament?

Amazon Prime has the rights to broadcast WTA events in the UK and Ireland. New members can sign up for £ 7.99 per month and are eligible for a 30 day free trial.

Tennis Channel covers the United States with a combination of TVA Sports, DAZN, TSN broadcasting WTA tournaments in Canada.

Europe and Australia are covered by beIN Sports, Setanta, Super Tennis, Tennis Channel and other local broadcasters, while SuperSport has exclusive rights to Sub-Saharan Africa.

ESPN broadcasts WTA events in Latin and Central America, and iQIYI, Now TV, DAZN, and StarHub cover parts of Asia.

The article WTA Finals 2022: When they take place, players who qualify, cash prizes, TV information and streaming first appeared on Tennis365.com.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *