When is the 2023 Women’s World Cup? What to expect from England after winning Euro 2022

2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia New Zealand England Lionesses – GETTY IMAGES

England were placed in Group D alongside Denmark, China and Senegal, Haiti or Chile for the 2023 Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

The first game of the European champions will be against the winner of an intercontinental play-off, with Chile waiting to face the winner of a clash between Senegal or Haiti to claim a place in the group.

Lionesses matches will take place in Brisbane, Sydney and Adelaide.

China was the first team drawn together with England and is the second highest country in the group, having participated in the last two editions of the tournament and reached the quarter-finals in 2015.

Denmark were the highest-scoring team in Pot 3 and are returning to the tournament having not qualified for the previous three editions.

The Republic of Ireland, making their World Cup debut, have been included in Group B and will play host Australia on the opening day of the tournament in Sydney. Canada and Nigeria complete the Republic group.

When is it?

The 2023 Women’s World Cup will take place from 20 July to 20 August 2023, in the winter of the southern hemisphere.


The tournament will be hosted jointly by Australia and New Zealand, who beat Colombia to win the vote. Venues include those that will be well known to rugby fans, such as Eden Park (Auckland), Suncorp Stadium (Brisbane) and Stadium Australia (Sydney).

Which teams qualified?

England qualified for the tournament, with a qualifying match to spare. Scotland and Wales were eliminated in the play-offs, while Northern Ireland did not leave their qualifying group, but the Republic of Ireland made it for the first time. There is an additional intercontinental play-off in February to determine the last three qualifiers, but the draw for the teams in the tournament finals is:

How to watch

The broadcasting rights for the tournament have not yet been announced, but the 2019 edition was broadcast exclusively by the BBC. See below for more details on the latest developments.

How to get tickets

Tickets for multi-game packages went on sale October 6, available from just $ 20 AUD / NZD for adults and $ 10 AUD / NZD for children, with individual matches going on sale October 25. once the match list is finalized.

Who are the reigning champions?

The United States are the reigning champions after beating the Netherlands in Lyon in 2019.

How did England do it before?

England have qualified six times for the Women’s World Cup. They reached the quarter-finals three times and the semi-finals twice, most recently in 2019 when they were knocked out by future US winners.

Latest news

by Tom Garry, women’s football journalist

Fifa president Gianni Infantino criticized broadcasters for offering “100 times less” to buy the rights to broadcast the Women’s World Cup than was offered for the men’s tournament, despite television coverage of the last Women’s World Cup reaching more than a billion people.

Infantino said some of the offers received for next summer’s event are “unacceptable”.

The 2019 Women’s World Cup was broadcast live on the BBC, but ITV has been linked to a UK rights move to show next summer’s competition. ITV currently owns the rights to the Leonesse friendlies and qualifying matches, although the BBC only showed Euros this year. The two organizations share the rights of the male event.

Fifa chief business officer Romy Gai told Bloomberg this week: “This is not a case of discounted pricing, but rather a testament to broadcasters unwillingness to pay what women’s gaming deserves. Audience figures show that the 2019 Women’s World Cup in France was a catalyst for change in terms of television audience.

“A total of 1.12 billion viewers tuned in to official broadcast coverage across all platforms of the final between America and the Netherlands, which became the most watched FIFA Women’s World Cup match ever.”

Both the BBC and ITV were contacted by Telegraph Sport for comment Thursday, following Gai’s criticism of European broadcasters.

Infantino, speaking on the occasion of the draw for next summer’s event in Auckland, added on Saturday morning: “It must be looked at seriously and we will not accept these offers, this must be very clear.

“We hope to find a way to come to terms with this, but it is important that everyone put action behind words and we all start treating women’s football the same way.”

Nationally, Sky Sports and the BBC currently share the rights to show the Women’s Super League, England’s top women’s club division, in a deal worth between £ 7 million and £ 8 million per season for rights (approx. £ 7 million per year) plus marketing efforts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *