When are the semi-finals of Qatar 2022 taking place

Lionel Messi – Today’s World Cup matches: When will the Qatar 2022 semi-finals take place – Clive Brunskill/Getty Images

The semi-finals of Qatar 2022 are upon us, with Argentina, Croatia, France and Morocco the only teams left standing.

In the quarter-finals, Croatia earned a surprise shoot-out win over tournament favorites Brazil, while Argentina also needed spot-kicks to overcome a spirited Dutch side.

Cristiano Ronaldo broke down in tears as Morocco shocked Portugal with a 1-0 win, while Gareth Southgate’s England were eliminated by world champions France after Harry Kane missed a decisive penalty for the equaliser.

The 22nd edition of the quadrennial tournament, which began way back in 1930, is also the first to be held in an Arab country. The State of Qatar is the smallest country by size (11,600 km2) and the population (2.7 million) ever hosted.

The World Cup featured eight groups of four teams before the top two from each progressed to the knockout round of 16, followed by the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final.

This format will change for the 2026 World Cup, when the tournament will be expanded to 48 teams as co-hosts from the United States, Mexico and Canada.

Semifinal matches

France vs Morocco, Wednesday 14 December (7pm, BBC/ITV)

When did the knockout stages start?

The knockout stages of this year’s World Cup kicked off on Saturday 3 December with the round of 16, before progressing to the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final.

A total of 16 teams progressed to the round of 16. They were the Netherlands, Senegal, England, the United States, Argentina, Poland, France, Australia, Morocco, Croatia, Japan, Spain, Brazil, Switzerland, Portugal and South Korea.

The teams that reached the quarter-finals were the Netherlands, England, Argentina, France, Croatia, Brazil, Morocco and Portugal.

What date is the 2022 World Cup final?

The last match of the World Cup will take place on Qatar National Day – Sunday 18th December. It will kick off at 3pm UK time (6pm in Qatar, 10am ET, 9am CT and 7am PT) at the 80,000 capacity Lusail Stadium.

Where will the next World Cup take place?

The 2026 World Cup will take place in three host countries – America, Canada and Mexico – in a first tournament after the trio’s bid rejected a strong proposal from Morocco. The matches of the competition will be played in 16 different cities: 11 American, two Canadian and three Mexican.

This article is kept up to date with the latest information

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *