Schedule, England matches, how to watch them and the latest odds

T20 World Cup 2022: program, who is in the England squad and latest odds – AP

England need to defeat Australia at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Friday night if they are to keep the fate of the World Cup in their own hands following the embarrassing defeat to Ireland.

Eleven years after his seismic World Cup victory in Bangalore, Ireland, aided by some timely downpours, he produced a magnificent encore at the MCG, beating England by five points.

Captain Andy Balbirnie’s 62 out of 47 balls supported Ireland’s 157 all outs in 19.2 overs, although his red card was the start of a slump that saw his team lose their last seven wickets in 24 deliveries.

But England staggered 86 by five under a heavy blanket of cloud and, despite a belated explosion of Moeen Ali’s borders, was still below par Duckworth-Lewis-Stern when the skies opened.

England had started the tournament earlier with an impressive performance on the pitch to beat Afghanistan by five wickets.

The Men’s T20 World Cup, the second in a year due to delays caused by the Covid-19 pandemic, began in Geelong on October 16 with Namibia’s victory over Asian Cup holder Sri Lanka in the preliminary round to eight teams.

After the first round success, Ireland, the Netherlands, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe qualified for the Super 12, where they joined the eight automatic qualifiers: England, Australia, India, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and New Zealand .

When is it?

The 2022 T20 World Cup kicked off with Sri Lanka’s defeat to Namibia on October 16 and will run for nearly a month with the final scheduled for November 13 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Who is hosting the T20 World Cup?

Australia are defending the title at home. Matches are taking place across the country at the MCG, SCG, Gabba, Adelaide Oval, Perth Stadium, Bellerive Oval in Hobart and Kardina Park in Geelong.

What are England’s T20 matches?

England’s group stage matches are as follows:

The semifinals will take place on 9 and 10 November, with the final at the MCG on 13 November.

Australia crushed New Zealand in last year's T20 World Cup final - REUTERS

Australia crushed New Zealand in last year’s T20 World Cup final – REUTERS

How can I watch?

Each match of the tournament is broadcast live on Sky Sports.

What is the tournament format?

The first round of the T20 World Cup involves eight teams that have had to face a qualifying round: Namibia, Sri Lanka, the United Arab Emirates and the Netherlands in Group A and then Ireland, Scotland, Zimbabwe and the West Indies in Group B.

Basically, forming the preliminary stage, the winner and runner-up of each group move on to the next group stage, joining the teams already qualified. Then Australia, Afghanistan, England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka (Group A winner) and Group B runner-up will be in Group 1, while Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, South Africa and Ireland (Group B winner) and the Netherlands (Group A runner-up) make up Group 2.

After facing each other in the group, the top two of each group of the Super 12 phase move on to the knockout phase, consisting of semi-finals and final, the latter on 13 November.

Tables of the T20 World Cup

With the previous stages finished, these are now the teams that have reached the Super 12 stage.

Group 1: Afghanistan, Australia, England, New Zealand, Ireland, Sri Lanka

Group 2: Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, South Africa, the Netherlands, Zimbabwe

Who is in the England squad?

Jos Buttler (c), Moeen Ali, Harry Brook, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan, Liam Livingstone, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Tymal Mills, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Alex Hales.

Players waiting: Liam Dawson, Richard Gleeson.

What is the latest news on England?

The first thing to say is that if England wins the three games left in the group, they are done. They would have four wins and no other team would be able to reach that milestone in that scenario. They would even be leading the pack, because New Zealand’s washout today means they’ve already lost a point.

If no further motivation were required, the defeat to England would leave Australia with all sorts of annoyances. It would take a huge swing in net run-rate (NRR) to make it through.

What if they lose?

There is still a lot to play in cricket, so England can lose to Australia and qualify. But it requires results to go right, starting with big wins over New Zealand and Sri Lanka. That would bring them to six points (a tally that couldn’t be improved by both NZ and SL, as they’d have to play each other anyway).

Australia would still be able to reach eight and qualification, so losing points to Ireland or Afghanistan would be very beneficial. Ireland itself remains in contention, but its net operating rate is nearly as bad as Australia’s.

The elephant in the room, of course, is the famous Australian terrible weather …

How should England do it?

They entered last year’s tournament as favorites before losing to New Zealand in the semifinals and have the firepower to go all the way. Their courage was tested in Pakistan, counterattacking from 3-2 down to take the 4-3 series and were forced out of their comfort zone by losing the draw in all three games against Australia, establishing a total of wins in the first two and were on the verge of winning in the third before the rain saved Australia’s skin.

The teething troubles this summer under new manager Matthew Mott have been banned and, even without the injured Jonny Bairstow, confidence is high that England can reach the holy grail of being world champion in both formats with white ball at the same time. Their recent form has greatly reduced their odds as Jasprit Bumrah’s injury forces India to slide to third place on the bookmakers’ chalkboard.

What are the latest odds?

  • India 5/2

  • England 4/11

  • New Zealand 9/2

  • Australia 2/11

  • South Africa 8/1

  • Pakistan 9/1

Information correct as of October 24th

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *